Song Premiere: Twilight Muse “Electrify Me”

May 15, 2023
Song Premiere: Twilight Muse “Electrify Me”

Photo by Nathaniel Johnston

Twilight Muse, the indie-rock duo known for its entwined vocal harmonies and creative range is set to release its debut album. The project is comprised of singer-songwriter Meg Pollaro and multi-instrumentalist Andrew L. Shapiro, who met at an open jam session in 2019. Twilight Muse weaves together diverse influences ranging from Americana to new wave to modern R&B, creating a captivating musical tapestry. With a series of singles paving the way, the forthcoming album promises to take listeners on a transformative journey of love, life, and longing.

Produced by acclaimed talents including Dan Mackenzie, Will Baker, and Jason Cummings, Twilight Muse’s debut album showcases Pollaro and Shapiro’s versatility. The first single, “Dreamspace,” sets the stage for the album’s enchanting sound. Pollaro’s sensually emotive vocals glide over a supple groove, accompanied by chiming electric guitars and ethereal backing vocals. With its introspective lyrics and evocative melodies, the song is a testament to Twilight Muse’s ability to create a captivating sonic experience.

Another standout track, “Are You In,” delicately explores the complexities of long-term love. Pollaro and Shapiro’s intertwining vocals create a harmonious dialogue, expressing both longing and hope. Meanwhile, “Oh Mama” showcases the former’s bold vulnerability as she fearlessly addresses the topic of family addiction, delivering poignant lyrics that resonate deeply.

Today, we premiere “Electrify Me” ahead of the duo’s eight-track debut album. On the song Twilight Muse invite listeners to immerse themselves in a musical journey that transcends boundaries through a blend of poetic lyricism, atmospheric soundscapes, and harmonious vocal interplay that has become their signature.

“Electrify Me’ is a tune that showcases another side of Twilight Muse,” Pollaro tells Relix. “It’s our more New Wave, guitar-heavy rocker drawing inspiration from everyone from The Cars to the Allman Brothers to the Clash.”

Listen to the premiere of “Electrify Me” below.