Check out our September 2020 CD Sampler

September 17, 2020
Check out our September 2020 CD Sampler

Stream the COMBINED playlist:

FOLLOW Relix on Spotify to discover new tracks from every issue!

SUBSCRIBE to Relix Magazine


My Morning Jacket

“Feel You”

From the album The Waterfall II

ATO Records

My Morning Jacket have released their new album The Waterfall II, a continuation of 2015’s Grammy Award nominated album The Waterfall. The Waterfall II is an unforeseen and timely continuation of a psychic and sonic journey begun long ago.


Nick Perri & The Underground Thieves

“Feeling Good”

From the album SUN VIA


Nick Perri & The Underground Thieves are a rock band from Philadelphia led by artist, songwriter and producer Nick Perri. Debut album SUN VIA is available now on vinyl, CD and all digital platforms.


Eric Johanson

“Down to the Bottom”

From the album Below Sea Level

NOLA Blue Records

Guitarist, singer and Louisiana native Eric Johanson makes guitar-driven music with authentic roots in the dynamic tapestry of New Orleans that evokes the mysteries of the bayou, heat of the city and all the lively spaces in between.






Goodwolf is the brainchild of Morgantown, W.V.-based Tyler Grady. Drawing influence from a range of artists as varied as Elliot Smith and Guided by Voices, Goodwolf churns out infectious hooks that echo the heyday of radio rock while sounding stunningly current.


Axon Radio

“Stocking Shelves (Feat. Oz Noy)”

From the album Shadow Logic

Def Left Ear

Axon Radio is an American jazz duo founded in 2019 by Cory Carleton (bass) and Travis Brant (drums). Eclectic music and lineups are a staple — blending jazz, funk, and fusion, with modern studio production, and a rotating cast of industry established musicians.


John Németh



NOLA Blue Records

Two-time Blues Music Award winner John Németh was born and raised in Boise, Idaho before spending nine years in the Bay Area and ultimately landing in his current hometown of Memphis, Tenn. Németh’s 10th album, Stronger Than Strong, is slated for release on Oct. 16, 2020.



“Vinyl Junkie”

From the album HMS Blake


U.K. based singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist, Blake’s music is heavily influenced by ‘60s rock acts such as The Beatles, Peter Green’s Fleetwood Mac and Bob Dylan. His DIY recordings have earned him a cult following. New album, HMS Blake, was released on the Subjangle label on September 25.


Whiskey Basterds

“Sweet Kathleen”

From the album Redemption on Main St.

Black Tooth Productions

Deeply rooted in Americana music, Whiskey Basterds are open to exploring wherever the Muses lead them, giving rise to new expressions of their sonic heritage—from folk to funk to blues, rock and beyond. Their debut album, Redemption on Main St. is “an electric rock ‘n’ roll trip through the dark side.”


Claus Funch

“Drugged Up Future World”

Noise Tablets

Celebration Records

Claus Funch has been roaming around on the Danish music scene for many years. In his music, Claus explores a wide range of genres and is constantly seeking in his music and never settling. Funch is now residing in Copenhagen and is releasing his second solo album Noise Tablets on October 9.


Leah Dunn


From the album Wetsuit


Leah Dunn, found on Spotify’s “Fresh Finds” playlist, earwormed her way into the indie-rock scene with her debut, Wetsuit. At only 18, her work ranges from witty and catchy hooks to stark social commentary. Dunn draws Courtney Barnett, Neil Young and Sonic Youth to create her own velvet sound.



“Kids of Summer”


The Orchard

Monotronic is a NYC-based collective that blends a wide array of influences and styles to produce a unique sound of their own that truly defies genre. The band was founded in 2016 by guitarist/producer Ramsey Elkholy, who is also the band’s leader and primary song writer.


Reverbnation Contest Winner: The Violet Mindfield

“Downtown (I Wanna Roll With You)”

From the album Hello Darling


The Violet Mindfield is a four-piece, American, garage/psych band, based in the Inland Empire of Southern California.


Editor’s Pick: The Greyboy Allstars

“Executive Party”

From the album Como De Allstars

Knowledge Room Recordings

The Greyboy Allstars surprise studio album, Como De Allstars, is the legendary SoCal-based band’s first new music in seven years. Self-declared “boogaloo revivalists,” the quintet, which initially formed in 1994, remain as revelatory and electrifying as ever over 25 years later.