Check Out Our July/August 2021 CD Sampler

August 6, 2021

Check out the CD & Digital Artist Samplers from our June 2021 Issue.

Stream the COMBINED playlist:

FOLLOW Relix on Spotify to discover new tracks from every issue!




Modest Mouse

“The Sun Hasn’t Left” 

From the album The Golden Casket

Epic Records

The Golden Casket heralds a new chapter in the unpredictable evolution of Modest Mouse. Produced with Dave Sardy and Jacknife Lee in LA and Portland, Isaac Brock explores themes ranging from the degradation of our psychic landscapes and invisible technology to fatherhood.


Joe Marcinek Band


From the album JMB4


JMB4 is the 4th album by the Joe Marcinek Band and features an all star lineup with Tony Hall (Dumpstaphunk) on bass, Nikki Glaspie (Nth Power) on drums, Shaun Martin (Snarky Puppy) on keys plus special guests Eric Gales, Roosevelt Collier, Eric “Benny” Bloom (Lettuce) and Jason Hann (String Cheese Incident)


Bob Malone

“Oh Well”

From the album Good People

Delta Moon

Good People (out May 21) grabs onto Bob Malone’s “keyboard wizardry” on the piano and serves up a variety of bluesy rock—ranging from contemplative ballads to sweeping jams, all carried along by smoky vocals and Malone’s unmatched ability to wrest every drop of emotion out of the keys possible.


James Kelly

“Who Do You Think You Are?”

From the album Loose Talk

Bert’s Beats

After a decade spent on the production side of the music industry, Brooklyn-based singer-songwriter James Kelly has released his debut album, Loose Talk. The 10-song cycle explores his battle with bipolar disorder. It was produced by James and mixed by Michael Brauer (The Stones, Bob Dylan, MMJ).


Kevin Daniel

“My Oh My”

From the album Been Here Before


Kevin Daniel is a North Carolina-based Americana artist with three releases under his belt and a fourth on the way. His music has been described as “radio and TV ready with enough darkness creeping in around the edges to appeal to fans of Jason Isbell and Langhorne Slim.” His fourth album is out in July 2021.



“Temporary Life”

From the album Night Sky


Foxtrotter is a four-piece band from New England, known for their high-energy live shows and catchy-yet-intricate songwriting. Foxtrotter mixes elements of folk and pop with a true vintage rock-and-roll spirit.


Good Morning Bedlam

“Hold Me”



Good Morning Bedlam has become an innovative force in the folk scene. Their shows are known for their contagious energy, with members jumping and dancing about the stage! After winning the prestigious JHMF 2019 band competition, they’ve been working on their new record Lulu, to be released in late 2021.


Jess Jocoy

“Brighter Eyes”



Jess Jocoy makes atmospheric Americana for rainy days and twilight hours. It’s an ethereal sound with organic roots, anchored by a longtime love of country music, a storyteller’s nuanced delivery and a folksinger’s finesse.


Gráinne Duffy


From the album Voodoo Blues


The debut album Out of the Dark (2007) led Duffy to the stage at Glastonbury fest. In 2020, she released Voodoo Blues album — reaching No. 7 in the U.K. and No. 13 in the U.S. RMR chart. She was named “Best Female Vocal” (2014) and “Best Artist” (2015) in the Blues Matters Writers Poll, and sang with Billy F. Gibbons at Mahindra Blues (2017).


Terrorists of Romance

“Shake Me Mad”

From the EP Like Kerosene

Vankiki Records

Terrorists of Romance is an indie-folk and alternative-rock band formed in Barcelona in 2019. Vanessa Salvi, composer and performer, of Italian-Norwegian descent is the creator of this musical project integrated by Francisco Ujaque “Kiko,” Pol Barberán, Nito Sanchéz and Fran Pesich.


Seven Purple Tigers

“One Night’s Promises”



Based in Germany’s Black Forest, American-German indie band Seven Purple Tigers have been crafting a unique transatlantic blend of rock and pop since forming in Krakow, Poland, in 2015. The band’s creative duo, Austin Horn and Phil Dyszy, write, record and produce from the bowels of a disused inn.


Tara Dente 

“Anyone’s Hometown”


Tara Dente hails from the shores of N.J., with a soul embedded in the mountains of Appalachia. Her roots are in traditional American folk music, elevated by her fingerpicking, soaring vocals and engaging storytelling. “Anyone’s Hometown” brings you back to your stomping grounds: the place that scars, shapes, brings joy and seems to always be drawing you home.


Wood & Bone

“Rising Smoke”

From the EP Rising Smoke

Simple Truth Records

Wood & Bone is a Boston-based roots band featuring Jesse Ciarmataro aka Qwill on guitar, banjo and lead vocals; Joe Wilkins on guitar, mandolin and vocals; Joe Cardoza on upright bass; and Dennis Monagle on drums and vocals. The band plays an ever-changing mix of harmony-driven folk, soul and blues.


Editor’s Pick: Midnight North


From the album There’s Always a Story

Americana Vibes

There’s Always a Story represents a new chapter for Midnight North. Ten stories told through song on their most polished album to date.


Bonus Track: Oliver Wood

Fine Line”
Honey Jar Records/Thirty Tigers

Oliver Wood is a mainstay of modern-day American roots music. The frontman of The Wood Brothers since 2004, he’s spent the 21st century blurring the boundaries between folk, gospel, country-soul and Americana, earning an international audience and a Grammy Award nomination along the way.

To be featured on the next Relix Sampler, contact