Sokoband: In November Sunlight

Matt Franciscovich on July 1, 2010


Veteran instrumental jazz combo Sokoband, established by composer Michael Sokolowski (piano) and Houston
Ross (bass), delivers a reworking of songs off its 1997 debut In November Sunlight, as well as a few previously unreleased compositions. It features an unearthed take by LeRoi Moore on its title track, as well as appearances by Dave Matthews, Tim Reynolds, Steve Kimock, John D’Earth and Greg Howard among 11 others, plus new drumming by seasoned session man Nir Z. Songs like the world-influenced “Jiriki” and piano-laced ballads like “Body Home” and “Lullaby For E” are mixed with ten-minute prog-fusion journeys ( “Energy Charged” ) and upbeat improv sessions ( “Coast To Coast,” “And Yet Your Smile” ) that are surprisingly contemporary – 15 years after they were originally released.

Artist: Sokoband
Album: In November Sunlight