Widespread Panic Confirm First New LP in Nine Years, ‘Snake Oil King’

June 7, 2024
Widespread Panic Confirm First New LP in Nine Years, ‘Snake Oil King’

Photo: Josh Timmermans

Widespread Panic have announced the official release date of their latest studio album and first in nine years, Snake Oil King, due next Friday, June 14. The confirmed full-length arrives after the band has already previewed their project with a series of singles, including “Cosmic Confidante,” “Life as a Tree,” “Tackle Box Hero,” “We Walk Each Other Home” and “Little by Little.” Notably, the LP consists of six total entries, leaving only “Small Town” as a final surprise. 

Snake Oil King comes after a break from the studio for the veteran Peach State jamband and serves as the follow-up to the group’s previously released 2015 collection, Street Dogs, which was drummer Duane Trucks’ first with the band. While little detail has been revealed on the background of the six-track album, the group did share that Snake Oil King was recorded at the renowned John Keane Studio in Athens, Ga.

According to the band’s official website, the set was mastered by industry stalwarts Glenn Schick and Pete Lyman and focuses on the auditory experience for listeners, ensuring the highest-quality vinyl renderings for premium sonic intake. Adoring the set is the illustrated dream world of the artist Marq Spusta, who provided the final cover art and visual renderings for each single, which came before today’s LP confirmation. 

Leading up to the official announcement, Widespread Panic has tried out their new singles in live settings, most recently debuting “Cosmic Confidante” during their Memphis stand. The only song off the impending record that has not been released is “Small Town.”  Widespread Panic does not have concerts on their schedule prior to next week’s release. Instead, they will follow up post-album delivery with their highly anticipated slate of Red Rocks shows June 21-23. Tickets are sold out. 

For fans interested in procuring Widespread Panic’s Snake Oil King vinyl, the set will be available on Record Store Day, June 14, 2024. 

Scroll down to listen to the five of six songs released from Widespread Panic’s Snake Oil King thus far.

Snake Oil King:

Side A

  1. Little by Little
  2. We Walk Each Other Home
  3. Tackle Box Hero

Side B

  1. Life as a Tree
  2. Cosmic Confidante
  3. Small Town