Tedeschi Trucks Band Announce New Live Album ‘Layla Revisited (Live At LOCKN’)’ Feat. Trey Anastasio

May 7, 2021
Tedeschi Trucks Band Announce New Live Album ‘Layla Revisited (Live At LOCKN’)’ Feat. Trey Anastasio

Photo by Stuart Levine

Tedeschi Trucks Band have announced a new live album, Layla Revisited (Live At LOCKN’), a recording of their Aug. 24, 2019 set at the LOCKN’ Festival in Arrington, Va. During that now-legendary set, TTB were joined by guitarist Trey Anastasio and frequent collaborator Doyle Bramhall II. The augmented band proceeded to cover Derek & The Dominos’ Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs in its entirety. The new album will be available on July 16, and will also be available as a 3-LP vinyl set.

In addition to the record announcement, the band also shared a video of their performance of “Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad?”, which “builds to a climax amidst cyclonic, concurrent solos from Trucks and Anastasio,” according to a press release.

The press release noted that the performance of Layla was a surprise to fans, but was not a spur of the moment decision for the band; rather, they “diligently rehearsed and planned ahead of time.” “The links between the band and the album are deeply woven into the fabric of their existence,” continued the release. For one thing, the record’s release day – Nov. 9, 1970 – is the very day of Susan Tedeschi’s birth. When Trucks was born few years later, in June of 1979, Chris and Debbie Trucks were such big fans of the album that they decided to name their son “Derek.” Another link, of course, is Duane Allman’s presence on the album. For part of the LOCKN’ Layla set, Trucks played his 1957 Gibson Goldtop guitar that greatly resembles Duane Allman’s famous axe. In fact, it is just one serial number away from Allman’s own ’57 Goldtop.

“By the time that I started playing guitar, the sound of Duane Allman’s slide was almost an obsession,” said Derek Trucks about Layla in a statement. “His playing on Layla is still one of the high-water marks for me. The spirit, the joy, the recklessness, and the inevitability of it. My dad would play that record for me and my brother to fall asleep to and further sear it into my DNA.”

In addition to the live set, the album will include a studio recording of “Thorn Tree In The Garden” by just Tedeschi and Trucks. The song was not played during the festival set; rather, the original studio version was played over the PA after the band ended their set with “Layla.”

Pre-order the new album here, and watch “Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad?” below.

Layla Revisited (Live at LOCKN’) Tracklist:

  1. I Looked Away
  2. Bell Bottom Blues
  3. Keep On Growing
  4. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out
  5. I Am Yours
  6. Anyday
  7. Key To The Highway
  8. Tell The Truth
  9. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad?
  10. Have You Ever Loved A Woman?
  11. Little Wing
  12. It’s Too Late
  13. Layla
  14. Thorn Tree In The Garden (studio)