Queens of the Stone Age Return After Six Years with “Emotion Sickness”

May 11, 2023
Queens of the Stone Age Return After Six Years with “Emotion Sickness”

Photo by Andreas Neumann

After a six-year hiatus, Queens of the Stone Age are making their highly-anticipated return, this time with their eighth album, In Times New Roman … set to release on release on June 16. In celebration of their new project, the band teased the release with their powerful new single “Emotion Sickness,” a muscular rocker infused with ELO-style vocal harmonies that showcases frontman Josh Homme leading the charge with his distinctive raw vocals.

In Times New Roman … was recorded and mixed at Homme’s Pink Duck Studios in Burbank, Calif., and the band added their finishing touches at Rick Rubin’s Shangri-La studio in Malibu. Taking on production duties themselves, Queens of the Stone Age, along with their longtime collaborator Mike Rankin as the engineer, have carefully crafted the project to their liking. To complete the package, the band enlisted the talents of another familiar collaborator, Boneface, who worked on the double-LP gatefold artwork, set to be released alongside the CD and digital album.

Along with the song release, the band shared a trailer for the album setting a tone for the project, featuring a Roman-style feast of vices. A snake slithers across a table toward a crowned Caesar, who playfully holds a lollipop as partygoers indulge in various vices, from spirits to plates of cocaine, hundred dollar bills and sugary delights. Orchestral strings sweep through the soundtrack, weaving in and around the scene before breaking into a powerful rock moment. In a humorous twist, Caesar exclaims, “Glowy to Wome.”

In addition to his work with Queens of the Stone Age, Homme has been involved in various projects. He reunited with John Paul Jones and Dave Grohl as Them Crooked Vultures at last year’s Taylor Hawkins tribute event. Homme also delighted fans with a video of himself performing an acoustic rendition of Them Crooked Vultures’ “Spinning in Daffodils” and a duet with Sharon Van Etten on Nick Lowe’s “(What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love, and Understanding.”

Watch the trailer and enjoy “Emotion Sickness” below.

In Times New Roman … Track List

1. “Obscenery “
2. “Paper Machete”
3. “Negative Space”
4. “Time & Place”
5. “Made to Parade”
6. “Carnavoyeur “
7. “What the Peephole Say”
8. “Sicily “
9. “Emotion Sickness”
10. “Straight Jacket Fitting”