Deer Tick to Reissue ‘Divine Providence,’ Share Unreleased Song “Cake and Eggs”

Alex H. Krinsky on September 1, 2022
Deer Tick to Reissue ‘Divine Providence,’ Share Unreleased Song “Cake and Eggs”

Photo by Michael O’Neil

Today, alternative rock-folk band Deer Tick announced that they’ll release a special 11th-anniversary edition of their seminal 2011 LP Divine Providence. Along with the announcement of the celebratory reissue, the band also shared a previously unreleased song entitled “Cake and Eggs.”

The 11th-anniversary reissue will be shared both physically and digitally with the physical version featuring a three-LP set along with a 12-page booklet of freshly unearthed photos from the time the project was released. Along with the booklet, the upcoming release will also come with unreleased songs and never-before-heard takes on some of the most revered tracks in the band’s discography.

“One of the fun things about diving into the old Divine Providence tapes was hearing all the forgotten material we recorded. We found a somewhat unfinished take of ‘Cake and Eggs,’ a kind of irreverent love song in the style of John Prine and Iris DeMent’s ‘In Spite of Ourselves.’ I wrote with Nikki from Those Darlins and it quickly became a live staple and an important song for that era of Deer Tick,” reflected Deer Tick’s John McCauley in a statement. “It’s surprising it never ended up on one of our records. Anyways, I slapped a new guitar track on there, Dennis and I recorded some new vocals, and now we’re happy to present this studio version of ‘Cake and Eggs,’ some eleven or twelve years after it was written. Enjoy.”

Back in 2011 Divine Providence served as the Rhode Island-born band’s fourth LP and came during a pivotal time as the band was experiencing multiple lineup changes. After the release of the offering, Deer Tick solidified with McCauley (vocals/guitar), Christopher Ryan (bass), Denis Ryan (drums), and Ian O’Neil (guitar). The original project was produced by Adam Landry and Justin Collins at Machines with Magnets in Pawtucket, R.I., and the anniversary edition was remastered by John Baldwin at John Baldwin Mastering.

Listen to “Cake and Eggs” below.

Divine Providence 11th anniversary edition tracklist:
1. The Bump (2022 Remaster)
2. Funny Word (2022 Remaster)
3. Let’s All Go To The Bar (2022 Remaster)
4. Clownin Around (2022 Remaster)
5. Main Street (2022 Remaster)
6. Chevy Express (2022 Remaster)
7. Something To Brag About (2022 Remaster)
8. Walkin Out The Door (2022 Remaster)
9. Make Believe (2022 Remaster)
10. Now It’s Your Turn (2022 Remaster)
11. Electric (2022 Remaster)
12. Miss K. (2022 Remaster)
13. Mr. Cigarette (2022 Remaster)
14. Main Street (Band Acoustic)
15. Born At Zero (Band Acoustic)
16. Virginia Gal (Band Acoustic)
17. Chevy Express (Solo Acoustic)
18. Electric (Solo Acoustic)
19. Born At Zero (2022 Remaster)
20. Walls (2022 Remaster)
21. Virginia Gal (2022 Remaster)
22. She’s Not Spanish (2022 Remaster)
23. Main Street (Acoustic, 2022 Remaster)
24. Bury Deep
25. Cake and Eggs
26. Hope Is Big (2011 Version)
27. Mr. Cigarette (Alternate Version)
28. Make Believe (Studio Demo)
29. Now It’s Your Turn (Studio Demo)
30. Divine Providence (feat. Longmont Potion Castle)