Page McConnell & Trey Anastasio Share New Album ‘December’

December 24, 2020
Page McConnell & Trey Anastasio Share New Album ‘December’

After sharing a series of filmed performances including renditions of “Waste” and “Brian and Robert,” Trey Anastasio and Page McConnell have released an album of songs performed as a duo titled December.

The album is made up of existing Phish songs, rearranged for just acoustic guitar and piano. December kicks off with “If I Could,” followed by “Mountains in the Mist,” “Wingsuit,” “Joy,” “Miss You” and “The Squirming Coil.”

December was recorded at the band’s The Barn studio in Vermont over the course of this past December, according to the description on YouTube. McConnell played just piano and Anastasio just acoustic guitar; the two of them shared vocal duties. The record was produced and mixed by Bryce Goggin, engineered by Ben Collette and mastered by Pete Lyman (at Infrasonic Mastering in Nashville). The cover photo, an eerie shot of The Barn’s façade, was taken by Rene Huemer.

McConnell and Anastasio teased the album’s release with a series of social posts containing a screenshot from their previously-aired video performance with Christmas lights photoshopped onto a tree behind them (see below).

“Happy Holidays from Page and Trey,” read the description on YouTube.

Listen to the album in full below!

2 PM ET/11 AM PT Radio

Posted by Trey Anastasio on Thursday, December 24, 2020