Listen: New Riders of the Purple Sage to Release New Live LP ‘Hempsteader,’ Share “Panama Red (420 Version)”

April 16, 2024
Listen: New Riders of the Purple Sage to Release New Live LP ‘Hempsteader,’ Share “Panama Red (420 Version)”

This Friday, New Riders of the Purple Sage and Omnivore Records will release the new live LP, titled Hempsteader: Live At The Calderone Concert Hall, Hempstead, New York, June 25, 1976. The impending drop showcases 18 staple tracks, including John “Marmaduke” Dawson’s original fan favorites like “Henry,” “Portland Woman,” and “Glendale Train.” As a timely preview, prior to Saturday’s 4/20 holiday, the band has shared “Panama Red (420 Version),” a radio and playlist-friendly edit of the new live track.

Hempsteader presents New Riders of the Purple Sage hot off the heels of their MCA 1976 New Riders release, which presents stretched and improvised takes on the material, such as the elongated “Portland Woman,” with guitarist David Nelson and pedal steel guitarist Buddy Cage taking the number to uncharted territory. Elsewhere, on the set, the band mingles with covers by the likes of Delbert McClinton, Hazel Dickens, Jack Tempchin, Loudon Wainwright III, Chuck Berry, and a stunning take on Otis Redding’s classic “Hard To Handle” (which Grateful Dead fans will recall from their earlier days) and The Rolling Stones’ classic “Dead Flowers.”

Much like the group’s previous Thanksgiving In New York City, Field Trip, and Lyceum ‘72 release, Hempsteader was produced by NRPS archivist Rob Bleestein, also known as the host and producer on SiriusXM’s Grateful Dead and Pearl Jam channels, who offered, “‘Panama Red’ is back in town! Just in time for 4/20, cannabis enthusiasts can jump on this super hot live edition of the Peter Rowan written classic from the New Riders of the Purple Sage.”

As noted in his liner notes, Bleestein suggests, “Sit back, spark one up and let Hempsteader take you back to one supremely rocking night on Long Island with the New Riders.” The forthcoming release will be available on CD and high-resolution digital. Watch the album trailer below, and listen to “Panama Red (420 Version).”

Hempsteader tracklist:

1. Panama Red

2. Little Old Lady

3. Honky Tonkin’ (I Guess I Done Me Some)

4. Fifteen Days Under The Hood

5. Annie May

6. Henry

7. Don’t Put Her Down

8. Ashes Of Love

9. Portland Woman

10. Whiskey

11. She’s Looking Better Every Beer

12. Teardrops In My Eyes

13. I Heard You’ve Been Layin’ My Old Lady

14. The Swimming Song

15. You Never Can Tell

16. Hard To Handle

17. Glendale Train

18. Dead Flowers