GarciaLive Vol. Nine Features Jerry Garcia and Merl Saunders from 1974, Stream Exclusive Track

June 21, 2017

The ninth installment of the GarciaLive series will arrive on July 28 in the form of Jerry Garcia and Merl Saunders’ August 11, 1974 stop at the Keystone in Berkeley, CA. 

Joining the band on that night was bassist John Kahn, saxophonist Martin Fierro and Grateful Dead drummer Bill Kreutzmann for a unique evening of covers and Garcia originals like “That’s What Love Will Make You Do,” Jimmy Cliff’s “The Harder They Come,” Four Tops’ “Ain’t No Woman (Like the One I’ve Got)” and The Band’s “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down,” among others. 

Merl Saunders Jr., who wrote the liner notes for the release, notes that “listening to these tracks gives you a window into what could happen on any given night these guys decided to step on stage and see the magic that transcends the music, which lasted between my father and Garcia until the end.” 

Pre-orders are available here. Listen to an exclusive premiere of “The Harder They Come” below. 

GarciaLive Vol. Nine Tracklist: 

Disc 1 — Set 1:

1.) That’s What Love Will Make You Do
2.) La La
3.) It Ain’t No Use
4.) Mystery Train

Disc 2 — Set 2:
1.) The Harder They Come
2.) Ain’t No Woman (Like The One I’ve Got)
3.) It’s Too Late
4.) (I’m A) Road Runner
5.) The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down