Album Premiere: Black Pumas’ Self-Titled Debut

June 19, 2019
Album Premiere: Black Pumas’ Self-Titled Debut

photo by Merrick Ales

Austin-based group Black Pumas will release their self-titled debut studio album this Friday, June 21, and today we offer a sneak peek at the full LP.

The band—led by vocalist Eric Burton and Grammy-winning guitarist/producer Adrian Quesada, who met after a mutual friend turned Quesada onto Burton’s impressive busking efforts in downtown Austin—craft soulful songs with timeless melodies and heavy influence from R&B and hip-hop.

“We just take to the same kind of music,” Burton says of his relationship with Quesada. “I listen to East Coast hip-hop, old soul music, folk music. When Adrian sent me the songs, it was like I had already heard them before. We were on the same wavelength from the get-go.”

“We didn’t want to just do throwback soul and pretend that hip-hop never happened,” Quesada adds. “It had to feel sincere coming from us. I have a certain aesthetic in the studio, and Eric has a voice that evokes a certain era, but I don’t think we reference that too directly.”

Listen to Black Pumas below. The band plays a hometown album-release show this Friday in Austin before kicking off a run of summer tour dates next week. See their full schedule here.

Black Pumas Tracklist:

1. Black Moon Rising 
2. Colors 
3. Know You Better 
4. Fire 
5. OCT 33 
6. Stay Gold 
7. Old Man 
8. Confines 
9. Touch the Sky 
10. Sweet Conversations

You might also like