Album Premiere: Minetta’s ‘Automatone’

February 13, 2020
Album Premiere: Minetta’s ‘Automatone’

Photo by Patrick Michael O’Grady

On Sunday, Feb. 16., Brooklyn-based jazz-funk collective Minetta will release Automatone, their debut LP produced by Soulive drummer Alan Evans.

However, today, Relix will offer an exclusive stream of the album, recorded with Evans at his Iron Wax Studios in Massachusetts.

“When I’m writing for Minetta, I always start with a memorable melody and just sort of let the rest fall into place,” guitarist Matt Russo explains. “We’re right at home laying down filthy funk grooves, but we also love challenging ourselves compositionally and really pushing the band to new musical places.”

The eight-piece Minetta features Russo and Andrew Livoti on guitars, as well as keyboardist Eric Lemberg, bassist Francis Gillespie, drummer Kenny Hildebrandt and the brass section of Thomas Abercrombie (trumpet), Anthony Ferrara (tenor sax) and Will Nannery (trombone).

The group will celebrate the release of Automatone on Feb. 16 with a special performance at New York City’s Rockwood Music Hall. Tickets are available here.

For more information about Minetta visit the band’s Facebook and Instagram pages.

Listen to Automatone below:

You might also like