The Bogie Band and Joe Russo Announce Debut LP ‘The Prophets In The City’

January 18, 2022
The Bogie Band and Joe Russo Announce Debut LP ‘The Prophets In The City’

The Bogie Band and Joe Russo have come together to announce their debut album The Prophets In The City due to release on March 25 via Royal Potato Family. The group have shared the title track as the first release off the LP and is out today, Jan. 18 on all streaming platforms.

The group first come together at Winter Jazzfest in 2020 and didn’t have another live appearance together until the summer of 2021 when they performed a sold-out show at New York club NuBlu.

In conjunction with the announcement of the album’s release the collective have also added two release shows at the Brooklyn Bowl Philadelphia on March 24 and at the Brooklyn Bowl in Williamsburg, N.Y. on March 26. Tickets for the event go on-sale Friday, Jan. 21 at 12 p.m. EST.

“The music we’ve created here revels in the human mysteries that unfold in New York City, basking in its connections, ironies, and myths,” explained Bogie in a press release. “Through observing its humanity, we hope to invoke the underlying world of the spirits.”

The collaboration of The Bogie Band featuring Joe Russo combines Bogie’s tenor saxophone with Russo’s dynamic percussion. They are also joined by a supporting ensemble of musicians on the LP whose credits include Antibalas, The Dap-Kings, Red Barat, Budos Band, St. Vincent and David Byrne’s American Utopia.

“These are deep, thoughtful, beautiful and powerful compositions that could have only come from the mind and heart of Stuart Bogie,” says Russo. “I’m so proud of this record and can’t wait to share it with the world.” 

Listen to “The Prophets In The City (Arrival, Balance, Discipline, Joy)” here.

Track Listing
1. The Prophets In The City (Arrival, Balance, Discipline, Joy)
2. The Witnesses
3. We Met Them By The Water
4. Walking With The Holy Fools
5. Take Them On
6. We Organize
7. Joy (Reprise)
8. The Struggle
9. God In Us

Watch a promo video for The Prophets in The City below: