Paul Simon to Release New Musical Work ‘Seven Psalms’

April 12, 2023
Paul Simon to Release New Musical Work ‘Seven Psalms’

Paul Simon has announced that on May 19, he will release a new musical work, Seven Psalms. The seven-track collection presents 33 minutes of music that transcends the concept of an album with the intent that listeners will interact with it as one continuous piece.

The impending drop was recorded entirely on acoustic instruments. It captures the legendary artist in his finest form as he presents each movement with an engaging, meditative, hymnal-like soundscape and other acoustic instrumentation–including choral elements from the highly-regarded British vocal ensemble VOCES and an appearance by Edie Brickell.

Staying true to the origin of psalms as hymns intended to be sung rather than spoken, Seven Psalms beckons back to the genesis of folk music, King David’s Psalms. The result is a tacitly, quietly traversing musical experience intended for repeat listens. 

Simon and Kyle Crusham produced the single suite of music that will be available on vinyl, LP, CD, and across digital platforms via Owl Records and Legacy Recordings, a division of Sony Music Entertainment, next month. 

Watch a glimpse at Simon’s inspiration and process behind Seven Psalms below. 

Seven Psalms Tracklist: 

1. The Lord

2. Love Is Like A Braid

3. My Professional Opinion 

4. Your Forgiveness

5. Trail of Volcanoes

6. The Sacred Harp

7. Wait

“Two Owls” by the celebrated landscape artist Thomas Moran.