Neil Young and Crazy Horse Detail New Album ‘World Record,’ Share Lead Single “Love Earth”

September 30, 2022
Neil Young and Crazy Horse Detail New Album ‘World Record,’ Share Lead Single “Love Earth”

Photo Credit: Bill Kelly

Neil Young and his longtime collaborators Crazy Horse have announced their latest joint endeavor, an 11-track album entitled World Record, due out on Nov. 18 via Reprise Records. As a preview of what’s to come, the musicians have shared a taste of their latest collection of music with the opening track, “Love Earth.” Listen here

The follow-up to 2021’s Barn, their latest effort was co-produced by Young and Rick Rubin and tracked at Malibu, Calif.’s Shangri-La recording studio. World Record features Young’s Crazy Horse counterparts, drummer Ralph Molina, bassist Billy Talbot, and guitarist Nils Lofgren. Tracking in at just over four minutes, the single could have easily been dug out of Young’s early music catalog with a sweet and straightforward twang coupled with candy-coated lyrics as the ensemble collectively croons, “I’m calling out to you, love earth.” 

Before today’s announcement, Young poked at the impending release on his official website back in July, where he shared some background on the album with his fans: “Rick Rubin and I have produced the record and made the vinyl. That first edition will be improved upon when it gets to CD, but essentially it will be what it is on the vinyl. So it’s too late now to change the contents of the vinyl and some things will be a bit different in the digital versions, having evolved…not much though.”

He capped his early-July comments with “Music lives. It’s the same band, Crazy Horse, but the music is unlike Barn, our last offering. Music lives!!!!! Two records made in one year!!!!!!!” World Record will be released in physical formats, including vinyl, cassette and CD. High-resolution audio streams will become available via the Neil Young Archives, Qobuz and Amazon. 

Scroll down to see the complete tracking list for the forthcoming album. 

Listen to “Love Earth” below. 

World Record Tracking List: 

  1. Love Earth
  2. Overhead
  3. I Walk With You (earth ringtone)
  4. The Old Planet (changing days) 
  5. The World (is in trouble now) 
  6. Break The Chain 
  7. The Long Day Before 
  8. Walkin’ On The Road (to the future) 
  9. The Wonder Won’t Wait 
  10. Chevrolet
  11. The Old Planet reprise