Bon Iver Debut New Album at Eaux Claires, Announce Release Date and Details

August 13, 2016

After teasing the world with some hints about an upcoming album, Justin Vernon premiered the new Bon Iver record in full last night at his own Eaux Claires festival in his hometown of Eau Claire, WI. Along with the premiere, the band officially announced the album, called 22, A Million, which will be released on September 30 via Jagjaguwar. The first two tracks from the album have also been shared.

The premiere featured plenty of Vernon’s signature falsetto, along with live musicians (including a multiple-piece section of saxophonists) paired with prerecorded beats, autotuned samples and more. See the concert in full:

In contrast to the band’s previous two album, 22, A Million featured stylized track names like “715 – CR∑∑KS” and “____45_____,” each one containing some form of a number. See the full tracklist and album art and listen to the first two tracks, “22 (OVER S∞∞N)” and “10 d E A T h b R E a s T ⚄ ⚄,” below.

Trever Hagen, musicologist and collaborator and friend of Vernon, penned a piece about the album and Bon Iver as a whole, writing, “The ten songs of 22, A Million are a collection of sacred moments, love’s torment and salvation, contexts of intense memories, signs that you can pin meaning onto or disregard as coincidence. If Bon Iver, Bon Iver built a habitat rooted in physical spaces, then 22, A Million is the letting go of that attachment to a place.” Read the full piece here.

22, A Million Tracklist

1. 22 (OVER S∞∞N)
2. 10 d E A T h b R E a s T ⚄ ⚄
3. 715 – CR∑∑KS
4. 33 “GOD”
5. 29 #Strafford APTS
6. 666 ʇ
7. 21 M◊◊N WATER
8. 8 (circle)
9. ____45_____
10. 00000 Million

You might also like