Song Premiere: Jerry Garcia and Merl Saunders “Finders Keepers”

May 17, 2016

The latest installment of the Garcia Live archival series will be released on June 24. GarciaLive, Volume Six, July 5, 1973 – Jerry Garcia & Merl Saunders presents a show originally recorded at the 200 capacity Lion’s Share club formerly located in the small town of San Anselmo, CA ( just west of San Rafael and about 20 miles north of San Francisco). On this evening Garcia and Saunders were joined by John Kahn on bass, Bill Vitt on drums and a unknown guest on trumpet at the close of the performance (perhaps the same player who appears with the Jerry Garcia and Merl Saunders Band at the Keystone Berkeley on September 1, 1974).

Today we premiere the version of “Finders Keeps” which closes out disc two of the three CD set (it is now available for pre-order). The tracklisting for GarciaLive, Volume Six, July 5, 1973 – Jerry Garcia & Merl Saunders appears below the audio.

1. AFTER MIDNIGHT [10:35] (John W. Cale)
2. SOMEDAY BABY [9:14] (Sam Hopkins)
3. SHE’S GOT CHARISMA -> [18:40] (Merl Saunders)
4. THAT’S ALRIGHT, MAMA [13:16] (Arthur Crudup)

1. THE SYSTEM [18:45] (Merl Saunders/Pamela Dianne Carrier)
2. THE NIGHT THEY DROVE OLD DIXIE DOWN [6:00] (Robbie Robertson)
3. I SECOND THAT EMOTION [13:29] (Alfred Cleveland/William Robinson)
4. MY FUNNY VALENTINE [19:16] (Richard Rodgers/Lorenz Hart)
5. FINDERS KEEPERS [9:29] (General Norman Johnson/Jeffrey Bowen)

1. MONEY HONEY [8:37] (Jesse Stone)
2. LIKE A ROAD [9:21] (Don Nix/Dan Penn)
3. MERL’S TUNE -> [16:44] (Merl Saunders/John White)
4. LION’S SHARE JAM [9:52] (Jerry Garcia/John Kahn/Merl Saunders/Bill Vitt)
5. HOW SWEET IT IS (TO BE LOVED BY YOU) [6:04] (Lamont Dozier/Brian Holland/Eddie Holland)