Song Premiere: Billy F Gibbons “Rollin’ and Tumblin’” from New Solo Album ‘The Big Bad Blues’

July 19, 2018

Billy F Gibbons, the iconic guitarist and lead vocalist for ZZ Top, has announced he will release his new solo album,
The Big Bad Blues, on September 21 via Concord Records. Today, we premiere the lead single, a cover of Muddy Waters’ “Rollin’ and Tumblin’,” along with the song’s lyric video. 

“We successfully made our way through those uncharted waters with the Cubano flavor of Perfectamundo and completed the journey,” Gibbons says, referencing his last solo effort, which came out in 2015. “The shift back to the blues is a natural. It’s something which our followers can enjoy with the satisfaction of experiencing the roots tradition and, at the same time, feeling the richness of stretching the art form.”

The Big Bad Blues sees Gibbons returning to the classic blues influences that he and ZZ Top famously explored for years. Along with covers like the lead single, plus songs from Bo Diddley, Jerome Greene and Gilly Stillwater, the album features new, original blues cuts penned by Gibbons. Joining the guitarist on the tracks is a band consisting of keyboardist Mike Flanigin, bassist Joe Hardy, drummers Greg Morrow and Matt Sorum, guitarist Austin Hanks and harmonica player James Harman.

“There’s something very primordial within the art form,” Gibbons says of the blues. “Nobody gets away from the infectious allure of those straight-ahead licks! I suspect Jimmy Reed did me in early on. The inventiveness of that high and lonesome sound remains solid and stridently strong to this day. We could go on to mention the lineup of usual suspects, Howlin’ Wolf, Muddy, all three Kings [B.B., Albert and Freddie]. The lengthy list of champions are forever carved in stone.”

Below, watch the lyric video for “Rollin’ and Tumblin'” below and see the full tracklist for The Big Bad Blues.

The Big Bad Blues Tracklist:

1) Missin’ Yo’ Kissin’ (Gilly Stillwater)
2) My Baby She Rocks
3) Second Line
4) Standing Around Crying (Muddy Waters)
5) Let The Left Hand Know…
6) Bring It To Jerome (Jerome Green)
7) That’s What She Said
8) Mo’ Slower Blues
9) Hollywood 151
10) Rollin’ and Tumblin’ (Muddy Waters)
11) Crackin’ Up (Bo Diddley)