Song Premiere: Mike Mattison “Deadbeat”

February 12, 2020
Song Premiere: Mike Mattison  “Deadbeat”

On March 20, Landslide Record will release Mike Mattison’s new album. Mattison co-produced  Afterglow with drummer Tyler “Falcon” Greenwell, who is a fellow mainstay in the Tedeschi Trucks Band. Mattison explains that Afterglow, “is really the result of the three of us, Dave Yoke (guitar), ‘Falcon’ Greenwell and myself on acoustic guitar, tracking live in Falcon’s garage, and adding the bass later. So it’s a throwback recording in a way, a nod to our garage band days: Loose and louche. We were lucky to have Jason Kinsgland’s guiding hand on the final mix. He has the perfect touch.”  Other artists who appear on Afterglow include Mattison’s Scrapomatic bandmate Paul Olsen (guitar), as well as Rachel Eckworth (keyboards). Franher Joseph (bass) and the late Kofi Burbridge on keys.

Today we premiere “Deadbeat” from the forthcoming record. Mattison tells Relix, “Sometimes being in love is just like crashing on someone’s couch and overstaying your welcome. Written on a winter drive in the rural South with 70s country music in mind, if not exactly in the execution. Originally recorded by Kristina Train for her album, Rayon City, which due to circumstances is still awaiting release. When it comes out, do a little compare-and-contrast for your edification.”